Acting President Inaugurates A National Task Force On Rice And Wheat Production


Today, we inaugurated a National Task Force on Rice and Wheat production.

We established a National Rice and Wheat Task Force to set up targets that will yield comprehensible and self-evident results in rice and wheat production in the country.

Agriculture is our main stay and we are trying to evolve a strategy for our economy, a strategy for employment and a strategy for feeding our people.

Rice and wheat is our main focus and we hope to show the world how serious we are.

The underlisted are terms of reference for the task force.

i. to set up production targets for rice and wheat in the participating states;

ii. to determine the scope and particulars for government support needed towards the attainment of the set targets;

iii. to consider and proffer the best off-take and marketing arrangements that will encourage maximum effort among the farmers/millers;

iv. to determine the rice and wheat value chain deficiencies and recommend solutions for addressing them;

v. to mobilize farmers and millers in identified target states to engage the CBN Anchor Borrowersā€™ Programme and other available support facilities;

vi. to establish timelines for the delivery of goals set by the Task force

The members of the task force include Governors of Kebbi State, Senator Abubakar A. Bagugu, Dr. A. U. Ganduje of Kano State, and Engr. David Umahi of Ebonyi State. Others are the Minister of State for Agriculture Lokpobiri Heineken, the President of Rice Farmers Association Mallam Aminu Goronyo and the President Wheat Farmers Association Saliu Mohammed.