BREAKING: Jonathan’s Senator, Rep, Others Defect To APC

The Senator and House of Representatives member representing President Goodluck Jonathan constituency at the National Assembly, Senator Clever Marcus Ikisikpo and Hon Nadu Karibo have defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Also, the Bayelsa State House of Assembly member representing Ogbia Constituency 1, Hon. Azibola Omekwe was among those that also defected to the APC.

The legislators and other members of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) that defected were led to the APC’s National Secretariat by the former governor of Bayelsa State, Chief Timpre Sylva.

Addressing journalists at the party’s Secretariat in Abuja, leader of the defectors. and Senator representing Bayelsa East senatorial district at the National Assembly, Senator Ikisikpo said they believed that Bayelsa State would be better represented and developed under the APC platform.

While berating the PDP for under developing the state, he said that the party will work hard to win the governorship election in the state slated latter this year.

Senator Ikiskpo stated that sentiment had prevented them from moving to the APC before the elections were over, explaining that they would have moved earlier but didn’t want to be associated with the consequence that would have befallen Jonathan after the election.

He said: “We expressed our readiness today to work with the APC at the local, state and national levels. We are convinced that APC will best represent the future for Ogbia, for Bayelsa and for Nigeria. Together, we hereby join the movement for change in Nigeria.”

In his speech, the former Bayelsa State governor and leader of APC in the state, Chief Timipre Sylva said Baylsians have realised that they needed change and the time has come for the state to embrace change.

He regretted that the party worked hard in the just concluded election to deliver the state to the APC but PDP forces who were bent at rigging the election frustrated their efforts.

The former governor assured the party leaders that APC will clinch the governorship seat in the next election.

Receiving the defectors on behalf of the national leadership, former governor of Ekiti state and Deputy National Chairman South, Engr Segun Oni commended them for coming to the APC fold while charging them to work hard for the success of the party in the next governor ship election.

Leave a Reply