JUST IN: Buhari sacks Kachikwu, appoints new directors for NNPC

Femi Adesina, presidential media adviser, in a statement made available to NAIJ.com, has announced that President Muhammadu Buhari approved new board of directors of Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC).

The composition of the board of the NNPC was confirmed under Section 1(2) of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation Act of 1997, as amended.

The new board includes:

A. Chairman-Dr Emmanuel Ibe Kachikwu, Honourable Minister of State for Petroleum;

B. Group Managing Director-Dr Maikanti Kacalla Baru;

C. The Permanent Secretary of the Federal Ministry of Finance; and

D. The following six persons:

1. Mallam Abba Kyari

2. Dr Thomas M.A John

3. Dr Pius O. Akinyelure

4. Dr Tajuddeen Umar

5. Mallam Mohammed Lawal

6. Mallam Yusuf Lawal.

The president advised the new board to ensure the successful delivery of the mandate of the NNPC, ” and serve the nation by upholding the public trust placed on them in managing this critical national asset.”

President Buhari has announced names of ministers of his cabinet in September 2015. He also appointed himself as Minister to head the Petroleum Ministry. Buhari, having been head of the Petroleum Trust Fund under the military leadership of the late Sani Abacha, and the oil minister under Olusegun Obasanjo, the former head of state has extensive knowledge of the oil sector.