Nigeria Governors’ Forum Crises Ends, Amaechi Adopted As Winner Of 2013 Election


-GOVERNORS under the aegis of Nigeria Governors’ Forum, NGF agreed to put behind them, crises rocking the forum as they took a resolution that governor Rotimi Amaechi of Rivers State is the authentic Chairman of the forum having won the May 2013 election of the forum.


Vanguard gathered Monday that soon after the meeting took off, there was an apology to be absent from the Chairman of the other faction of NGF and governor of Plateau State, Jonah Jang was taken, an indication that all decisions reached at the meeting would be binding to all.


According to the source, the Governors took a resolution that as part of moves to finally nip in the bud the lingering crises, they must first agree that Amaechi won the 2013 election and it as accepted by all and taken as a resolution.


The governors, made up of the All Progressives Congress, APC and the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP are presently meeting at the Lagos/ Osun Hall of Transcorp Hilton, Abuja, just as this forms the first of its kind since 2013 when they fell out.

It will be recalled that since governor of Rivers State and Chairman, Nigeria Governor’s Forum, NGF, Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi was re-elected as Chairman of the Forum in May 2013 where he polled 19 votes to defeat governor Jonah Jang of Plateau State, the only governor who contested with him to score 16, all has not been well with the forum.


The Nigeria Governors’ Forum which was established to among others, provide a forum for discussion and exchange of ideas, help strengthen and promote Nigeria’s federal system and promote understanding among governors and States, is the umbrella body of all the thirty-six state governors of the federation.


As at the time of sending this report at 10.40 pm, the governors were still inside for the meeting and the following were in attendance.


In Attendance


1. Godswill Akpabio of Akwa Ibom

2. Rotimi Amaechi of Rivers

3. Adams Oshiomhole of Edo

4. Rauf Aregbosola of Osun

4. Muazu Babangida Aliyu of Niger

5. Ramallan Yero of Kaduna

6. Saidu Dankigari of Kebbi

7.Emmanuel Uduaghan of Delta

8. Deputy governor of kano and governor- Elect, Abdullahi Umar Ganduje

9. Kashim Shettima of Borno

10. Deputy governor of Kogi, Yomi Awoniyi

11. Isa Yuguda of Bauchi

12. Deputy governor of Nasarawa State

13. Abiola Ajimobi of Oyo

14. Governor- Elect of Akwa Ibom, Emmanuel Udom

15. Deputy governor of Imo State

Leave a Reply