Read What Senate Did About The Oshiomole’s $75m World Bank Loan

The Senate on Tuesday referred the approval of $75 million World Bank loan to Edo state to the seven man adhoc Committee on Local and Foreign Debt.

This was announced by the senate president, Bukola Saraki at the plenary.

The Members of the Committee include; Sen. Kabiru Gaya, Sen. Bukka Abba, Sen. David Umoru, Sen. Durofashe, Sen Emmanuel Polka, Sen. Samuel Anyanwu and Sen. Ibrahim Abdullahi.

The committee is to report back to the Senate on Wednesday.

Meanwhile, five bills including the Nigeria National Petroleum Corporation Act (Ammendment)bill 2015 and National Centre for Cancer Research and Treatment Bill 2015 were presented for first reading.

The bills were sponsored by Sen. Babajide Omoworare (Osun East) and Sen. Mao Ohabunwa (Abia North) respectively.

The other bills include the Forestry Research Institute of Nigeria (Establishment, etc) Bill 2015 sponsored by Sen. Uche Ekwunife (Anambra Central), the Electronic Transaction Bill 2015 by Sen. Hope Uzodimma (Imo West) and the Chartered Institute of Entrepreneurs (establishment,etc) bill 2015 sponsored by Sen. Ibrahim Gobir (Sokoto East).

The senate also considered the request of Mr President for the Confirmation of Mr Abdullahi Kaugama as the Resident Electoral Commissioner (Jigawa State) in the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The Senate referred his confirmation to the Committee of the Whole.

Leave a Reply