Sylva Wins Fresh Bayelsa APC Governorship Primaries

Chief Timipre Sylva has again won the fresh governorship primaries of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Bayelsa state.

Timipre Sylva

The primaries held today, September 30 in Yenagoa, the state capital.

The APC had decided to fix today for a fresh governorship primary in the state after the one held last week was nullified.

The APC national chairman, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun had said it failed to meet its acceptable standard of free and fair election and therefore will not stand.

According to Leadership reports, Sylva polled 981 votes out of the 1,147 accredited votes. 27 votes were voided.

Announcing the results at APC secretariat in Yenagoa, Mansur Alli, chairman of the Electoral Committee for Bayelsa state said Sylva beat Godknows Powel who received 39 votes to be the first runner-up. Wallman Agoriba scored 28 votes and secured third place.

Speaking after the announcement, Sylva commended the electoral committee on the smooth conduct of the primary election.

One of the aspirants, Timi Alaibe, the former Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC) managing director, withdrew from the race earlier today. According to Alaibe, he pulled out of the race “to avoid a situation of crisis that the PDP might inadvertently reap from cannot be over emphasised.”

The first primaries had held last Tuesday, September 22, but it had been nullified due to security challenges. The cancelled election had produced Sylva as the winner and the party’s flag bearer in the poll slated for December 5.

But, Governor Adams Oshiomhole of Edo state, the Chairman of the Committee for the primary had said the election did not take place, describing Sylva’s victory as a ‘huge joke’.